Student Reflections on Evaluation

Below is a sample of my students’ reflections. Their deadline for finishing this assignment is not for two more days, but I’ve perused the early birds’ reflections and posted some highlights below. Many of them are making thoughtful connections about how they will use what we learned in the module–establishing criteria, comparing and contrasting, writing reviews to an online community, writing an academic evaluation–to their future careers! HOW STUDENTS WILL APPLY WHAT THEY LEARNED IN THE FUTURE

I would apply these elements in my future career. A lot of engineering design works with not only creating new products but modifying current products. So comparing and contrasting different models and writing an evaluation on the new modified product would be help in the engineering design I will most likely apply the elements of this module when I am evaluating anything. I already knew that we evaluate things based on criteria but I didn’t quite understand what criteria meant or what it was. I will also apply the elements of this module when I have to do an evaluation in a different class. I want to be a teacher so most likely I will have to evaluate students, lesson plan ideas, teaching strategies, etc., based on criteria as well. Since I am a business major, I will be using a lot of comparing and contrasting when it comes to business ideas and other financial problems that may occur. As well as using a lot of digital techniques (such as the use of Word and Excel) will be used to present certain business proposals. I think I could use the elements outside this module in order to decide on a job or career. It will be much easier to compare and contrast the criteria that is required for the type of job that I want to have. I will establish my credibility and expectations of things around me in my future career. I will use reasoning skills to compare and contrast many things, especially when purchasing important items. I will most likely use this module for general discussion with friends. I like to understand how and why something is good, whether it is music, movies, or even food, Being able to evaluate at the best of my ability with help me to discuss these in more in-depth ways. I will use these elements in my future career and daily life. In a career setting it is important to use and create credible information. I also think that understanding how to evaluate anything is useful in everyday life whether it is for an important issue or for something in the grocery store.

WHAT STUDENTS LEARNED

I learned that without criteria there isn’t anything to evaluate and that backing it up with your criteria is very important and sometimes can make the whole paper. I learned about what makes an evaluation more credible and logical. With the help of my peer-reviewers, I used better comparisons and sources to make my argument a strong one. I learned that the use of personal experience can build your credibility and make your overall statement more believable. Along with making your statement more credible, you are also letting others know the real facts about whatever you are talking about.

WHAT STUDENTS LIKED MOST ABOUT THIS MODULE

My favorite assignment during this module was probably the evaluation project overall. I liked the project because I could put my personal opinion in there without it not fitting in place. I also liked that it was something that I am interested about and something I would want more people to know about. My favorite assignment during this module was the evaluation project. This is because the topic of my project was the same as the topic for my paper, which made the module a whole lot easier. Furthermore, the topic of my project was very relatable to me which made it sort of easy as well. I was very interested in evaluating my topic. My favorite assignment during this module was the multimedia projects because I was able to be creative and have fun with my overall topic for this section. I also enjoy being creative on Word and it is fun to be able to use different fun fonts and colors. I really enjoyed the multimodal visual assignment. It was a lot more appealing to establish and identify criteria in a less academic and more visual way.

Leave a Reply

